Monday, March 31, 2008

Nacogdoches: The Oldest Town in Texas a.k.a. "We got trees!" - PART 1.

As promised here are pictures and a bit of commentary:


Masons...and uh...here is their office in Nacogdoches.




This is the place that I am obsessed with - the Main St. Theater. It's closed and rundown and I wants it.







Creepy Easter display on Main Street. Antique & Collectible Creepiness. Reminds me of Castle Rock's Needful Things.


Wednesday, March 26, 2008

Call of Duty 4 (GOTY) avec new maps. Nacogdoches news.

Coming April 3rd are three new multiplayer maps for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. The one I am excited about is the Chinatown map. Though I am not the world's best player - nor do I care to be - I've played through the maps about a million times. I'm trying to resist the urge to pick up a copy of Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Las Vegas 2. Apparently Vegas 2 is a much more tactical style shooter instead of being from the "run & gun" school.

I have a copy of Final Fantasy VI for the GBA on hold. Have to dig out some games to turn in for credit. This sticks in my mind as perhaps the best of the series as I played it on the SNES. Back in '94 it was released in the States as Final Fantasy III even though it was the sixth released in Japan. I wonder if some of the hidden characters are still available. Hmmm...I will review when/after I pick it up.

I had forgotten that we have some pictures of Nacogdoches plus we're going to an open House for the campus this weekend so we might have more pictures. They will get posted.

Tuesday, March 25, 2008

New speakers? Accepted into SFA? Assorted other jibber jabber?

Most important news first. Found out today that I am actually accepted into Stephen F Austin State University. That's right folks I'm going to the learnatorium to get my college on. I'm going to focus on History and see if I can't get into something along the lines of Conservation & Preservation. I'm a bit nervous about the whole going to school thing but I'll get over it.

In celebration I purchased new speakers: Harman Kardon HKTS-14. They are a few years older but according to the reviews and contacting Harman Kardon's customer support the two differences between the HKTS-14 and the newer HKTS-18 are: the 14 has a 12" subwoofer and the 18 comes with a 10" and the 14 is silver where the 18 is black. For the substantial price difference between the sets there was no reason for me to just buy the newer set.

Now if any of you fine folks - or anyone you know - are in the market for speakers please let me know. The speakers I currently have are still excellent speakers. They are just kind of huge and old and need a good home. There's two floor standing Polks, a Bose VCS-10 center speaker, and a set of Bose Acoustimass that I might just hold on to.

More news to follow. Now is time to tote that bale.

Friday, March 21, 2008

Darkly Dreaming Dexter (2004) Jeff Lindsay

After watching several episodes of Dexter - starring Michael C. Hall - I decided I wanted to read the book that the series was initially based on. I eventually found a copy while wandering around the Hastings in Nacogdoches.

If you're not familiar with the show then I whole heartedly recommend watching it. CBS is showing it as part of their Sunday night programming. Basically the premise is that Dexter is a serial killer who works as a blood splatter expert for the Miami PD. His victims are only other serial killers or just plain bad folks. There's a great deal of humorous internal dialogue as he pretends to be a regular citizen. I like the side characters and am beginning to actually be interested in their stories. It's a good show.

The first Dexter novel - Darkly Dreaming Dexter - is not a bad crime novel. It's not a bad serial killer novel. The writing has a rapid fire pace that I appreciate. It's set in Miami and I get the feeling that if I was from Miami I recognize streets and places and the general feel of the place. Most of the events in this book I recognized from the first season I have watched so it wasn't very surprising. I pretty much enjoyed the book until the last quarter. I even read the last two chapter twices thinking that I missed something. Maybe I did because man, what a stupid cock-a-mamie ending. After I finished it I said, "Really?" I had to wonder if he actually had a good ending and his publisher made him change it. When "the twist" arrives you can almost hear the dun dun dun. I beat M. Night Shamalyan thought it was brilliant.

I hope the show doesn't continue to follow the book. If it this ends like Darkly Dreaming Dexter I won't be able to continue watching it.

Wednesday, March 19, 2008

For you DS owning Guitar Hero fans...


Yes. It is real. Guitar Hero: On Tour will be coming out this summer. Here's a video. Keep your hand out of your pants.

Tuesday, March 18, 2008

Thor's Hammer entire store up for grabs?

Apparently Thor's Hammer went under and the entire stock is up on the auction block. Here's the ad on craigslist.

Yet another Dune remake and more!


Saw on Variety that there's going to another Dune adaptation in the works. This one will be directed by Peter Berg (The Kingdom). Apparently the producer just got rights to the story and they are looking for a writer. I guess that's cool but I have to wonder who's going to be in it. I predict Shia The Beef will be Paul Atredies. You heard it here first. 2:1.


* * *



On the right is one of the music players from GTA IV. Looks like this particular world/funk station is being hosted by Femi Kuti. All signs point to the fact that this game is going to be more awesome than...well anything.

* * *
Well I didn't know that the terms bobbie and peeler (both British terms for police) originated from the name of British Home Secretary Robert Peel. Robert Peel was instrumental in helping Parliament create the London Metropolitan Police Act in 1829. Now the line, "He's a Peeler 716 come to arrest the Zulu." makes much more sense.
* * *
Why are people so surprised when I know off the top of my head wether or not we have a book in stock? I only look at the fucking things day in and day out for months on end. If there was anything interesting or good in stock I'd know about it - and it probably wouldn't be out on the shelves for people to get all grubby. Perhaps people doubt my cognitive abilities because of the dunce cap and rope of drool hanging from my lip.
* * *
More shouting and jumping up and down to be continued. Stay tuned.

Monday, March 17, 2008

The Strangers (May 2008) - Trailer

Bully: Scholarship Edition (2008)

Rockstar blah blah blah fanboy blah blah blah. Bully blah blah blah fanboy blah blah blah w00t! Haven't tried the multiplayer blah blah blah.

Pick this up because GTA IV doesn't come out for another month. It's actually a really fun (and funny) game - despite the freezes a.k.a. "technical issues". Just save often and restart if there's a freeze up. It doesn't happen very often.

10,000 B.C. (2008) dir. Roland Emmerich

I wouldn't have wanted to see this movie except for the fact that I love insane prehistory tales, weird adventure tales, and ripping yarns. Historically inaccurate? Hey egghead go back to your learn-a-terium. What kicks more ass? Cavemen digging around in their own filth or cavemen being enslaved and using mammoths to build pyramids? If I wanted science and crap I'd watch National Geographic.

10, 000 B.C. is pulp. Pure, stupid, stare slack jawed at the moving pictures, "Oh, what the hell." fun. Does it suck? Yes. Is it awesome? Yes. It's the kind of movie you go see when you visit the family. We saw it on vacation at the only theater in Nacogdoches, TX. Frankly I think the best way to have seen 10,000 B.C. would be at a drive-in theater. Plus if it had been rated R it could have been totally awesome - as is it lacks both nudity and gore.

If you've seen the preview you know what you're getting. This ain't Chekov but it doesn't need to be. I think part of the reason I like the movie so much is because I am imagining Roland Emmerich talking people into making the movie. Sitting around with his producers and saying, "You know, I've always wanted to make a prehistoric movie." It makes me laugh thinking of the pitch and people working on the movie having a good time and saying, "ROFL, we're making a caveman movie!"

Wednesday, March 05, 2008

Another plug for Chromehounds and assorted minor items.

I am going to plug Chromehounds again because I am addicted to it - like a fat kid loves cake. I've actually started watching videos of 'Hound builds and combat. It's a good thing I have an understanding woman because I would never get one - this game is one the verge of preventing me from sleeping or leaving the house.

I did pick up a copy of Bully: Scholarship Edition for the 360. I couldn't help it. The previous incarnation for the PS2 was a solid and fun Rockstar outing. This edition is more of the same plus some new additions. A review will be upcoming.

In other news...well...there isn't really any other news. Hope you guys are doing well.

Diary of the Dead (2008) dir. George A Romero

"When there's no more room in Hell the dead will blog."


That's kind of how Diary of the Dead felt. The movie wasn't bad - it was better than Land of the Dead - but in no way was it even remotely close to the original. If you've seen the rest of Romero's zombie movies you know what you are getting: paint by number zombies, some gore - though this one was a lot less gory than I was hoping for, a touch of humor, and heavy handed social commentary. Pretty much you are either going to see this movie or you're not.
The basic idea is that some film students are out filming when the zom-pacalypse breaks out. Most of the movie is shot from a docu-aspect with the maker keeping the camera stuck to his face even when zombies are attacking his friends in front of him. He keeps filming because "people have to know the truth". Film maker, assorted fellow students, and drunken Professor drive around Pennsylvania filming the truth, dispatching zombies, and checking in on relatives. When I think about it Diary of the Dead is pretty paint by numbers. The heavy handed social commentary consists of the Government/Media lying to us, Homeland Security being a joke, if the way humanity treats itself when the chips are down (terrible) is humanity really worth saving (I don't need a zom-pacalypse to answer that), and it's up to the digital culture to carry the shining torch of truth. Oh yeah and Romero has a cameo as a government/military official telling us, "Everything is going to be okay."
At least it was better than Land of the Dead. I guess. The more I think about it the less I like it.

Tuesday, March 04, 2008

Gary Gygax: HP 0. Resurrected in better plane.

Gary Gygax has passed on at the age of 69. He was one of the guys in the USA to develop what we know of as RPGs. If you're familiar with the game Dungeons & Dragons - or any of the many TSR (formerly TSR) products - then you have Gygax to thank. Pretty much RPGs wouldn't be jack without his contributions. Cheers to you Gary Gygax, cheers to you.

Monday, March 03, 2008

Hedgie pic Monday.


As some of you may know I love hedge hogs. I don't know why. Normally I am a cat person but there's just something about hedge hogs. In any case thanks to Jenna for the picture.

Greatest Hits

Blog Archive (s) It's like a Wayback Machine!